Immunology Prize

The NSI award for Outstanding research article in Immunology!

Will be awarded at the General Assembly

The NSI’s Research Award is awarded to the first author of an outstanding original scientific paper in the field of immunology. The work must have been performed with affiliation to a Norwegian research institution. For the 2018 prize, papers published after the last annual meeting (November 2017) will be eligible for evaluation. To qualify for the prize the author must be a member of the NSI at the time of the prize presentation.

Please send your nominations to Rasmus Iversen (


Previous winners:

2017: Ole J.B. Landsverk 

Awarded for the article: Antibody-secreting plasma cells persist for decades in human intestine“.

The commitee for the award in 2018 was: Rasmus Iversen, Institute for Immunology, UiO; Raquel Bartolomé Casado, Department of Pathology, OUS; Lene Støkken Høydahl, Institute for Immunology, UiO; Monika Szymanska, Department of Pathology, UiO and OUS


2011: Anette S. Bøe Wolff

Awarded for the article: Chronic mucocutaneous candidiasis in APECED or thymoma patients correlates with autoimmunity to Th17-associated cytokines

Read the winning article.

The commitee for the award in 2011 was: Elin Bergseng, Institute for Immunology, UiO; Espen Bækkevold, Department of Pathology, UiO; Lise Kveberg, Institute for Immunology, UiO


2010: Elin Bergseng and Lars-Egil Fallang

Awarded for the article: Differences in the risk of celiac disease associated with HLA-DQ2.5 or HLA-DQ2.2 are related to sustained gluten antigen presentation

Read  the winning article.

The commitee for the award in 2010 was: Gøril Berntzen, Insitute of Immunology, UiO; Roberto di Niro, Institute of Immunology, UiO; Maria K. Dahle, Insitute of Basic Medical Science, UiO.


2009: Michael Zangani

Awarded for the article: Lymphomas can develop from B cells chronically helped by idiotype-specific T cells

Read the winning article.

The committee for the award in 2009 was: Sébastien Walchli, Institutt for kreftforskning, Radiumhospitalet; Anne Lise K. Hestvik, Immunologisk Institutt, Universitetet i Oslo; Geir Åge Løset, Institutt for Molekylær Biovitenskap, Universitetet i Oslo.


2008: Melinda Ráki

Awarded for the article: Tetramer visualization of gut-homing gluten-specific T cells in the peripheral blood of celiac disease patients.

Read  the winning article.

The committee for the award in 2008 was: Finn-Eirik Johansen, Institutt for patologi, Universitetet i Oslo;  Inger Øynebråten, Immunologisk Institutt, Universitetet i Oslo; Alexandre Corthay, Immunologisk Institutt, Universitetet i Oslo.


2007: Espen Ø. Kvale
Awarded for the article: CD11C+ dendritic cells and plamacytoid DCs are activated by human cytomegalovirus and retain efficient T cell-stimulatory capability upon infection.

Read the winning article.
The committee for the award in 2007 was: Zlatko Dembic, Institutt for oral biologi Universitetet i Oslo; Trygve Holmøy Immunologisk institutt Universitetet i Oslo; Liv Jorun Reitan, Seksjon for immunprofylakse Veterinærinstituttet.


2006: Trygve Holmøy og Agnete B. Fredriksen
For arbeidet: Cerebrospinal fluid T cell clones from patients with multiple sclerosis: recognition of idiotopes on monoclonal IgG secreted by autologous cerebrospinal fluid B cells.

Les  vinner artikkelen.
The committee for the award in 2006 was: Professor Tom Eirik Mollnes (formann), Institutt for Immunologi, Rikshospitalet-Radiumhospitalet Universitetssykehus,
Steinar Funderud, Institutt for kreftforskning, Avdeling for immunologi, Rikshospitalet-Radiumhospitalet Universitetssykehus; Vibeke Videm, Institutt for laboratoriemedisin, NTNU; Stig Tollefsen, NSI styrets medlem (sekretær)


2005: Karoline W. Schjetne
Read the article here.
The committee for the award in 2005 was: Zlatko Dembic, Institutt for oral biologi; Bent Rolstad, Avdeling for anatomi; Trond S. Halstensen, Institutt for oral biologi, Universitetet i Oslo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.